Update and Encouragement…

Posted on

Hi all,
Wow, I’ve gone and done it again and have not blogged much at all in the last few months. There has been a lot going on and I will certainly be making the effort to get back into the swing of things. For now, I just wanted to share what’s been on my heart today.
Some of you may know that the last few weeks (even months) have been very difficult on us healthwise. Dave has struggled immensely with his sinuses, allergies, ear infections, and coughing. I, on the other hand have struggled with my muscle disease. For 7-8 years, I have not really had much of an issue with it except a bit here and there requiring medication for a day or 2. Within the past 6 months, I have had 2 exacerbations that have required high dose steroids in order to pull me out of it. We have struggled, both physically, and with understanding God’s purpose in all of this especially when it seems to takes us out of the battle at GFA and we have to stay at home.
Then today….
As I was cleaning the bathrooms in our home, God began showing me so much. For those of you that know me, I’m not a lover of cleaning. Don’t get me wrong, I love a clean home but it’s not like I go looking for cleaning projects to ease my addiction ;). After being down and out for a few weeks and not being able to do much, the bathrooms were, well let’s just say they definitely needed a good scrubbing. As I was scrubbing, God showed me that we all need a good scrubbing from time to time in order to make us shine brighter for Him. I mean, think about it, left undone and not scrubbed, a home gets downright stinky and gross but once you put a little elbow grease and use the proper tools, it transforms it into a beautiful new creation (so to speak ;)). I believe this is what God has been doing in my life. He has been using tools (sicknesses, trials, struggles) to scrub me, clean my impurities, and transform me into something that He can even better use to win the lost and reach the world for Him. That scrubbing downright hurts and it takes a while sometimes but after, we are left clean, spotless, and shining, able to do new and great things as we are drawn closer to God. I’ll be honest, I don’t always like the “scrubbing” – it hurts and is uncomfortable but ultimately coming out on the other side, it’s a blessing to see the gunk washed down the drain and “sparkles” in it’s place. I thank God that He doesn’t leave us where we are, He molds us, shapes us, and cleans and refines us so that we can serve Him and love Him more fully and intimately.
I know this is not probably new to anyone but I love when God really gives something old new meaning for the time you most need it and I pray it encourages you today!!

Leave a comment